Monday, June 22, 2015

2016 ABT Blue Ink Playwriting Award Call For Submissions

American Blues Theater is proud to announce the 2016 Blue Ink Playwriting Award competition and seek submissions of new plays. The winning script will be selected by Producing Artistic Director Gwendolyn Whiteside and the theater’s award-winning Ensemble. The winner of this annual competition will be awarded the Blue Ink Playwriting Award of $1,000 and receive a staged-reading at American Blues Theater in Chicago.

The Blue Ink Playwriting Award was created in 2010 to support new work. Previous winners include Jamie Pachino’s Other Than Honorable (2015) Douglas Post’s Comden Mall Community Activists (2014), Elaine Romero’s Graveyard of Empires (2013), Christina Gorman’s American Myth (2012), and Stephanie Walker’s American Home (2011). In addition we’ve named 2 runners up, 13 finalists, and 31 semi-finalists. American Blues Theater gave out $1,500 in cash prizes in 2015.

Competition rules are available here. Submissions will be accepted by American Blues Theater from July 1, 2015 to August 31, 2015 at 11:59pm. Playwrights may only submit one (1) manuscript each year for consideration.

Please forward this information, and the guidelines, to any playwright that may be eligible and interested in this opportunity.

For more information about American Blues Theater, please visit our website

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Hello Bog admin
How are you. i like your post . it is amzing . please look at
If you live in the Chicago area and have an upcoming Myth Festival to plan, like a corporate get-together, you're likely starting to realize that throwing an unforgettable party is no easy task.
To know more visit- Myth Festival

Angelina Jukic