Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Richard Cotovsky to Receive 2015 Corona Award

Eclipse Theatre Company will present its Seventh Annual Corona Award to Mary-Arrchie Theatre Co. Artistic Director Richard Cotovsky on December 15, 2015. The Corona Award honors an individual who has played an important role in supporting and nurturing the growth of the Chicago theatre community as well as small- to medium-sized Chicago theatre such as Eclipse.

Actor and playwright Jon Steinhagen will host the evening. Guest speakers slated to appear include Mary-Arrchie Theatre Co. Producing Director Carlo Garcia, Mary-Arrchie ensemble member Rudy Galvan, Stage Left Theatre’s Artistic Director Vance Smith, A Red Orchid Theatre founder Guy Van Swearingen, A Red Orchid’s award-winning playwright and ensemble member Brett Neveu, and award-winning actor and director David Cromer, among others to be announced.

The Seventh Annual Corona Awards will be held on Tuesday, December 15, at the Athenaeum Mainstage Theatre, 2936 N. Southport Ave. in Chicago. Cocktails begin at 6:30 p.m., and the awards ceremony begins at 7:30 p.m. An assortment of light appetizers and cash bar will be offered during the evening as well as a silent auction. Tickets are $25 in advance, $30 at the door, and are available at 312-869-4870 and www.eclipsetheatre.com.

The Corona Award derives its name from the outer atmosphere of the sun most easily seen during a total eclipse, and the Latin root of the word means crown. Past Corona Award recipients include Chicago casting director Jane Alderman, TimeLine Theatre Managing Director Elizabeth K. Auman, former Steppenwolf Associate Artistic Director Erica Daniels, Goodman Theatre Associate Producer Steve Scott, Goodman Artistic Associate Chuck Smith, and League of Chicago Theatres Executive Director Deb Clapp.

No comments: