Wednesday, July 2, 2014

American Blues Theater Seeks New Play Submissions for Blue Ink Playwriting Award

AMERICAN BLUES THEATER seeks submissions for its 2015 playwriting competition. The winning play will be selected by Producing Artistic Director Gwendolyn Whiteside and the theater’s award-winning Ensemble. The winner of this annual competition will be awarded the Blue Ink Playwriting Award of $1,000 and receive a staged-reading at American Blues Theater in Chicago.

There is a $5 administrative fee. Please follow these guidelines in preparing your manuscript:
1. This contest is restricted to plays written in the English language. Worldwide submissions are accepted.
2. Submissions must be original, unpublished full-length plays written in English. Translations, musicals, and children’s plays are not accepted.
3. Playwrights may submit only one (1) manuscript per year.
4. Plays that have been professionally produced or published are not eligible. Plays that have had a workshop, reading, or non-professional production will be considered.
5. Plays may not be under option or scheduled for professional production or publication at the time of submission.
6. American Blues Theater reserves the Right-of-First-Refusal to produce the World-premiere of the winning manuscript for one (1) year beginning on date of the public announcement in March 2015.
7. Plays must be sent as a Word document or pdf file to
8. You may pay online, send a personal or cashier’s check, or cash. You will receive notification of your completed submission—both manuscript and payment—via e-mail. If paying by mail, send the $5 administrative fee to: American Blues Theater, 1016 N. Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60610.
9. Include your contact information (including address, phone number, and e-mail address) and a brief biography.

Submissions for the 2015 competition must be submitted no earlier than July 1, 2014 and no later than September 1, 2014. American Blues Theater reserves the right to reject any manuscript for any reason.
American Blues Theater reserves the right to not choose a winner for any given year of the competition and reserves the right to determine the ineligibility of a winner, in keeping with the spirit of the competition, and based upon the accomplishments of the author.

No comments: